top of page

Sankhya Philosophy: Exploring the Foundation of Yoga

Balancing Rocks

Yoga, as we know it today, has gained worldwide popularity for its physical and mental benefits. But beyond the physical postures and breathing exercises lies a profound philosophy that serves as the foundation of this ancient practice. Sankhya philosophy, one of the six major schools of Indian philosophy, provides a deep understanding of the human existence and the nature of reality. In this blog post, we will explore the fundamental principles of Sankhya philosophy and its significant influence on yoga.

1. Understanding Sankhya Philosophy:

Sankhya, derived from the Sanskrit word 'sankhyā,' meaning 'number' or 'enumeration,' delves into the exploration of the nature of existence through the systematic classification of various elements. The Sankhya philosophy was formulated by the sage Kapila and serves as a framework for understanding the universe and the self.

2. The Two Realities: Purusha and Prakriti:

According to Sankhya philosophy, the universe is composed of two primary entities - Purusha and Prakriti. Purusha represents the eternal consciousness or the self, while Prakriti represents the material nature. Prakriti encompasses the physical and subtle elements of the universe, including the mind, intellect, and the five elements (earth, water, fire, air, and space). The interaction between Purusha and Prakriti gives rise to the manifested world.

3. The Twenty-Four Tattvas:

Sankhya philosophy further categorizes the components of Prakriti into twenty-four tattvas or principles. These tattvas include the five gross elements, the five subtle elements (tanmatras), the five sense organs, the five organs of action, the mind, the intellect, and the ego. Understanding these tattvas helps us recognize the complexity of our being and the interconnectedness of the universe.

4. The Concept of Buddhi (Intellect):

Within the Sankhya philosophy, the Buddhi, or intellect, plays a vital role. It is through Buddhi that we gain discernment and make choices. Buddhi helps us distinguish between the eternal consciousness (Purusha) and the temporary material world (Prakriti). Through yoga, we refine our Buddhi and develop a deeper understanding of ourselves and our connection to the larger universe.

5. Yoga and Sankhya Philosophy:

Yoga and Sankhya philosophy are intricately linked. Patanjali, the sage who compiled the Yoga Sutras, draws heavily from Sankhya philosophy to elucidate the path of yoga. The eight limbs of yoga, known as Ashtanga Yoga, are closely aligned with the principles of Sankhya. As we practice the physical postures (asanas) and control the breath (pranayama), we gradually move towards the higher limbs of meditation and realization of the true self.

6. Liberation and Self-Realization:

Sankhya philosophy asserts that liberation (moksha) is attained by discerning the eternal consciousness (Purusha) from the temporary material nature (Prakriti). Through the practice of yoga, we develop self-awareness, detach from the fluctuations of the mind, and realize our true nature, which is unchanging and beyond the realm of the material world.

Sankhya philosophy provides a comprehensive understanding of the human existence and the nature of reality. By recognizing the eternal consciousness within ourselves and understanding the interplay of material elements, we can embark on a transformative journey through yoga. As we delve deeper into the practice, we move closer to self-realization and liberation. Sankhya philosophy serves as a guiding light, illuminating the path of yoga and leading us to a profound connection with ourselves and the universe.

May peace be with you and within you,


11 views0 comments


bottom of page